ZONE DOCTOR - FF6 Editor v3.18.4 (formerly FF6LE)

If it has bytes, we can change it. Talk about anything relating to hacking and emulation here.

Moderators: General Moderator, Game Moderator

ZONE DOCTOR - FF6 Editor v3.18.4 (formerly FF6LE)

Postby giangurgolo » Sun Jul 21, 2013 9:21 pm

Download ZONE DOCTOR v3.18.4 | Visit ZONE DOCTOR's home page

What is ZONE DOCTOR?
Zone Doctor is a third party .NET application written in the C# programming language which is capable of editing the locations and event scripts in the Final Fantasy 6/3 (US) ROM image file. It's code base, GUI, and additional features are based off of the Lazy Shell application, with a number of changes to accomodate the different format of the source ROM image. Resources and documents consulted include but are not limited to Evil Peer's FF6 Offsets Guide, Geiger's offsets compendium, Lord J's event disassembly source code, Imzogelmo's updated event disassembly, and Yousei's compression code. To see the complete history of changes made from version to version, view the changelog.txt file.

Note: Zone Doctor is capable of working with both headered and headerless ROMs, but if you wish to view/modify the source files remember that the program is designed to work with a headerless ROM buffer array. Thus all offset values in the source files reference a headerless ROM.

Notes on latest/recent release(s)...
Full event script editing is now supported. v3.18.x is an update from FF6LE v1.0, the changes of which are almost identical to the changes undergone from Lazy Shell v2.0 to v3.18.0. The most notable, of course, is event script editing support as well as a much more highly functioning level editor. I've incorporated Lord J's location map fix code from his FF6LE rogue source (credit is given in the editor's "About" window) to make it compatible with FF3usME. Despite this being a bugfix of the beta, there still may be a possibility of ROM corruption (particularly in the event scripts editor). That is why this thread exists for posting bug reports.

Screenshots...
Image Image

From the changelog.txt file:
Code: Select all
v3.18.4 (2013-08-26)
--------------------------------------
Additions:
*Can now import world map data from a fresh ROM

Changes:
*Image drawing code now safer and much faster
*Locations: world maps draw yet another 2x faster than before!

Fixes:
*Never removed header after save b/c romLength not being updated
*Some problems with new history logging format, dragging objects
*Locations: shouldn't be asking to save if already saved
*Locations: changing world map's tile properties not updating tilemap


v3.18.3 (2013-08-16)
--------------------------------------
Changes:
*History logging now more practical, loading times now faster
*Locations: locations now draw 2x faster, world maps 4x faster!
*Locations: raised maximum exits per location to 64

Fixes:
*Event Scripts: fixed and updated command $A0 (countdown timer)
*Locations: crash if try to drag bars in palette editor
*Locations: tilemaps and tilesets were not clearing if all set to 0
*Locations: shouldn't be checking if 0 tilemap for world maps
*Locations: crashes sometimes drawing if layers different sizes


v3.18.2 (2013-08-06)
--------------------------------------
Fixes:
*Graphics Editor: crash when making selection < 4 pixels wide/high
*Graphics Editor: not nulling selection when delselecting
*Locations: sizing image when updating tilemap was ignoring zoom factor
*Locations: assembler code for solidity set still had bugs, now perfect


v3.18.1 (2013-07-30)
--------------------------------------
Additions:
*Locations: gave several unknown values descriptive labels/controls
*Locations: architecture importing/exporting added

Changes:
*Now recalculates checksum when saving a modified ROM
*Locations: long exits can be click/dragged anywhere on the field
*Locations: tags containing script stubs now more offset precise

Fixes:
*Restore elements storing location map data to tilemaps, corrupting them
*Graphics Editor: wrong picture size for world map graphics
*Event Scripts: crash when update offsets if on very last script
*Locations: finally got layer 3 drawing correctly, colors and all
*Locations: adding new exits, events, NPCs, etc. not enabling groupboxes
*Locations: changing exit destination not updating tag
*Locations: crash closing tile editor b/c solidity tiles bad assembler
*Locations: world map tile editor not redrawing in world map format
*Locations: tile editor loading tile 0 if doing auto-update
*Locations: changing destination of exit casting as byte and not short
*Locations: minimaps not saving b/c never actually decompressing first
*Locations: crash when close locations if a subwindow still open
*Locations: ignores/won't load long exits if no short exits in location
*Locations: not calculating free short exit space correctly
*Locations: couldn't draw tiles to lower part of tilemaps
*Locations: crash if try to draw tile beyond boundaries of tilemap
*Locations: never was actually saving the graphics!
*Locations: undo not being set to manual count on load/reload
*Locations: BG color should always be filled with solid black
*Locations: NPCs not redrawing when sprite # changed
*Previewer: not using correct sprites for characters in save state


If you find or encounter a bug...
As is the case with releases containing several additions, there is always the possibility of new bugs surfacing. As usual, any bugs encountered please report them here. The recently added custom exception/error message box makes this easier and less trivial. If you encounter an error read the brief instructions in the message and make a new post here. You can click "ignore error" if you don't want to close and lose your work. Always remember to frequently save your work. Make back-ups using the options in the settings. Use the notes feature to keep track of changes and keep organized, etc.

CRASHES
If the editor crashes, copy/paste the contents in the crash window here, explaining what you did before the crash occurred.

CORRUPTED DATA
For corrupted data issues such as garbled/glitched graphics, text, etc. that you encounter after modifying the ROM, please answer each of the following FOUR questions:
1. What was the last thing you changed before you first encountered the problem?
2. Were you using a fresh ROM with OK checksum (see box at top of main window)?
3. If answer "no" to #2, what portions of the ROM did you modify before the problem? Is it a hack?
4. Do the problems appear in the *editor*, the *emulator*, or *both*?

OTHER BUGS
For all other bugs encountered, such as failure of the editor to perform a task like saving or changing data, incorrectly modifying or displaying data, etc. just briefly explain what the problem is and what you're doing to cause it.
Last edited by giangurgolo on Mon Aug 26, 2013 4:26 pm, edited 4 times in total.
User avatar
giangurgolo
Active User
Active User
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 6:40 pm

Re: ZONE DOCTOR - FF6 Editor v3.18.0 BETA (formerly FF6LE)

Postby Lenophis » Mon Jul 22, 2013 1:31 am

About the checksum, does Zone Doctor recalculate the checksum when you save? It should, if it doesn't. Here's some C++ code I use in my utilities which you should be able to translate easily enough. :)
Code: Select all
void CMain::OnSave()
{   // let's try and calculate the rom's checksum
   int x, y;
   x = 0;
   for(y=0; y<(nLength - nHeader); y++)  // in other words, the rom has to ignore the header in terms of knowing how big it is
   {
      x += nRom[y + nHeader];
      x &= 0xFFFF;  // keep it to a 16-bit range, since that's all the game uses
   }
   nRom[0xFFDE + nHeader] = (x & 0xFF);
   nRom[0xFFDF + nHeader] = (x >> 8);
   x ^= 0xFFFF;  // invert the checksum
   nRom[0xFFDC + nHeader] = (x & 0xFF);
   nRom[0xFFDD + nHeader] = (x >> 8);
   if(!SaveROM(cPath, nLength, nRom)) MessageBox(hWnd, "Unable to save", "Error", MB_ICONERROR);
}


I'll report back with some testing.
Image
Lenophis
Veteran
Veteran
 
Posts: 588
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2005 5:52 am
Location: Duluth, MN

Re: ZONE DOCTOR - FF6 Editor v3.18.0 BETA (formerly FF6LE)

Postby Novalia Spirit » Mon Jul 22, 2013 6:03 am

Regarding those bits listed as unknown under "Layer" and "Exit", I can shed some light on the matter:
  • Bit 1.0 is the equivalent of "can use warp", except that it is meant for X-Zone. The feature is incomplete (see C3/2869), however, and it essentially requires X-Zone to be modified so that the spell may be used in the field.
  • Bit 1.2 applies a wave effect to BG3. Most bodies of water are animated in this manner.
  • Bits 1.6 and 6.7 are unused and purposeless.
  • Bit 1.7 enables the transfer of the timer graphics to video memory. This overwrites vehicle graphics and, if I recall correctly, portrait graphics, which is why the transfer is not automatic.
  • Bits 6.0 and 6.1 form the window mask index. This data is only read when a spotlight, searchlight, or pyramid effect is in place. 01h is for the spotlight effect in the Imperial camp, 02h is for the spotlight effect in Ebot's Rock, and 03h is for the searchlight effect and the pyramid effect in Kefka's Tower; 00h just enforces the default set.
  • Byte 17 holds what I personally refer to as the sprite mask set. Most maps use an arrangement of black-colored sprites that each take the shape of a background element. These sprites are created on the fly and placed on the active party to artificially grant priority to the background. The bridge by Arvis's house is a perfect example of their practical application, as it's possible to walk either under or over the bridge. These sprites can be observed by disabling background layers in an emulator.
  • Bit 3.1 for the various exits refreshes the parent map variables.
A few notes concerning the other aspects of the editor:
  • The maximum effective height for a tilemap is 64. The code at C0/29A3 and further doesn't support anything higher. The same holds for the storage areas in RAM and VRAM.
  • The game automatically enables BG1 for the main screen at C0/1657. Merely disabling the layer via the editor isn't enough.
  • If GFX sets 3 and 4 are identical, the latter is ignored; the comparison is made at C0/26D0. The tile editor should reflect this fact.
  • Location property 1Ah is seemingly missing from the editor. This holds the index for color-based background animations, such as those of the ground and arrows in Kefka's Tower.
  • If the first three bits in the tile properties (in the game data, not the editor itself) are set, the tile is considered a shop counter, meaning you can interact with a person standing on the other side. (Fun fact: The nightstand upstairs in Strago's house has this property, and it's thus possible to interact with Relm from the other side after the events at the burning house.)
  • In the tile editor, the palette index doesn't update after changing the tile index. Also, regardless of the map, I get the following error after confirming, even if no changes were made: "Error accessing data at $512 in 512 byte array."
Last edited by Novalia Spirit on Tue Oct 08, 2013 3:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Novalia Spirit
Regular User
Regular User
 
Posts: 268
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2005 5:30 am
Location: Quebec

Re: ZONE DOCTOR - FF6 Editor v3.18.0 BETA (formerly FF6LE)

Postby giangurgolo » Mon Jul 22, 2013 1:27 pm

Thanks for the responses. I might decide to implement checksum recalculation, simple enough process. Novalia: I'll update the GUI to accommodate the currently nondescript labels for the unknown bits. The tile editor crash has now been fixed. Also, the palette index seems to update fine for me when I select a different tile. Is this problem in the world maps or just the regular locations?
User avatar
giangurgolo
Active User
Active User
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 6:40 pm

Re: ZONE DOCTOR - FF6 Editor v3.18.0 BETA (formerly FF6LE)

Postby Novalia Spirit » Mon Jul 22, 2013 3:38 pm

Never mind that, it was apparently a mistake on my end. But I think I may have found a small cosmetic bug while testing. The up and down arrows for the various numerical fields both change colors when the cursor is on the up arrow, but nothing happens when the cursor is on the down arrow. I can only presume the arrows were meant to light up individually.
User avatar
Novalia Spirit
Regular User
Regular User
 
Posts: 268
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2005 5:30 am
Location: Quebec

Re: ZONE DOCTOR - FF6 Editor v3.18.1 FINAL (formerly FF6LE)

Postby giangurgolo » Wed Jul 31, 2013 5:27 pm

OK, I've released a bugfix (check first post for link) which fixes not only all bugs posted here and in this thread but a few others as well. Several other changes were made to accommodate NS's documentation above.
User avatar
giangurgolo
Active User
Active User
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 6:40 pm

Re: ZONE DOCTOR - FF6 Editor v3.18.1 FINAL (formerly FF6LE)

Postby Imzogelmo » Fri Aug 02, 2013 6:29 pm

I just stumbled upon this, and I looked it over. I have a small addendum to make regarding event command A0:

A0 : 6 : Set countdown timer. First two bytes are the number of units to set it to. Last 3 bytes AND $03FFFF are the address to jump to if timer expires.
: Add $CA0000 to that address to get the actual event address. There are actually 4 timers that can run simultaneously. The selection of which timer
: is made by setting those bits in the last 3 bytes AND $0C0000. So there are timers 0-3 (0 is most often used).
: The uppermost nibble contains four flags regarding the timer, as such:
: 0x80 - Countdown pauses while in menu or battle.
: 0x40 - Digits for the countdown display while on the map. This must be enabled in layer 3 for the current location or it will be garbage.
: 0x20 - Enables exit menu/battle on timer expiration.
: 0x10 - Countdown will override game clock display in menu.

EDIT: There are other such high-bit maskings that should be watched for on pretty much any map-loading command, or flow-control command. The game just hates it if you try to grow the events larger than 4 banks (yes, 3 is enough for the standard game, but 4 is the next power-of-2. Move the dialogue, hackers of the future!)

I pasted this from an ancient document I made, but hopefully it is clear and you can create check boxes corresponding to those bits.
I'm fairly certain Novalia has some additional information on many of the other commands, but I"ll let him speak to that.

I'll look over it some more when I have a chance.
User avatar
Imzogelmo
Veteran
Veteran
 
Posts: 659
Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2004 4:07 pm
Location: On the spirtual plane

Re: ZONE DOCTOR - FF6 Editor v3.18.2 FINAL (formerly FF6LE)

Postby Imzogelmo » Thu Aug 08, 2013 1:58 am

Just out of curiosity, how are the event IDs generated? When I get a bit of time I will try to break it, and that seems a logical place to start for some reason. :)
User avatar
Imzogelmo
Veteran
Veteran
 
Posts: 659
Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2004 4:07 pm
Location: On the spirtual plane

Re: ZONE DOCTOR - FF6 Editor v3.18.2 FINAL (formerly FF6LE)

Postby giangurgolo » Thu Aug 08, 2013 12:09 pm

Events are separated by the terminating command 0xFF. The indexes are the positions of the events in the entire collection of events in the array.
User avatar
giangurgolo
Active User
Active User
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 6:40 pm

Re: ZONE DOCTOR - FF6 Editor v3.18.2 FINAL (formerly FF6LE)

Postby Imzogelmo » Thu Aug 08, 2013 9:16 pm

That's what I was expecting, since they are just consecutive in the code.

I can see ways to optimize the code to create more free bytes, and I'm just curious how additions and deletions work, re the pointers specifically.
User avatar
Imzogelmo
Veteran
Veteran
 
Posts: 659
Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2004 4:07 pm
Location: On the spirtual plane

Re: ZONE DOCTOR - FF6 Editor v3.18.2 FINAL (formerly FF6LE)

Postby giangurgolo » Thu Aug 08, 2013 10:12 pm

Basically it just updates all pointers that point to an address after the inserted/deleted command. The hard part was updating the special cases which have no pointers.
User avatar
giangurgolo
Active User
Active User
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 6:40 pm

Re: ZONE DOCTOR - FF6 Editor v3.18.2 FINAL (formerly FF6LE)

Postby Imzogelmo » Sun Aug 11, 2013 9:01 pm

With the commands that update the map, it doesn't currently give a way to update the tiles that are written over. That's not a major issue though. But would it be possible to somehow show (visually) the rectangle to be overwritten?

I'm thinking the bytes there represent an index into the current tileset, but I really haven't experimented with that enough to know for sure.
User avatar
Imzogelmo
Veteran
Veteran
 
Posts: 659
Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2004 4:07 pm
Location: On the spirtual plane

Re: ZONE DOCTOR - FF6 Editor v3.18.2 FINAL (formerly FF6LE)

Postby Warrax » Thu Aug 15, 2013 7:35 pm

This is a great editor so far with great features. FF3 roms modified by this editor works with the SuperUFO Pro 8 rom cartridge which is great, I say this because roms modified with FF3LE Rogue Edition do not work with my SuperUFO (filetype error), I suppose this is a bug on FF3LE RE end more than anything but I'm glad I can now test my hack, with edited maps, on my real SNES.

I've found some issues with Zone Doctor:

1. I can't draw/delete/modify tiles in WoB and WoR, nothing happens and the editor seems to freeze for a couple of seconds when attempting to do that.

2. I can't add Exit fields in the WoB and WoR. It says that the number is 28 per location but there is already 34 in WoR and 44 in WoB. I can add new exit fields in FF3LE RE without issues.

3. When attempting to modify Kefka tower base tile so I can walk on it (WoR map, tile index 133), I get this message when saving: "Could not save all SOLIDITY SETS. Stoppped saving at SOLIDITY SET # 41"

4. When attempting to draw tiles in any Fanatic Tower maps, I get an error message. This doesn't happen on all the tiles but it's somewhat random as it doesn't always happen. Note that the code below is for Fanatic Tower Level 1, so here goes:

Code: Select all
ZONEDOCTOR, Version=3.18.2.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=null, ROMSize=$300000

**************Exception Text**************
La référence d'objet n'est pas définie à une instance d'un objet.

Edit: I'm currently using a computer in french language, I will put the English message when I return home.

**************Recent Event History**************
MouseDown "pictureBoxLocation" | X:129,Y:204 | Form "Locations" | 2013-08-15 19:26:55 | Element = {363}  Fanatic's Tower, Level 1
MouseDown "pictureBoxLocation" | X:110,Y:73 | Form "Locations" | 2013-08-15 19:26:55 | Element = {363}  Fanatic's Tower, Level 1
MouseDown "pictureBoxLocation" | X:139,Y:133 | Form "Locations" | 2013-08-15 19:26:54 | Element = {363}  Fanatic's Tower, Level 1
MouseDown "pictureBoxLocation" | X:96,Y:176 | Form "Locations" | 2013-08-15 19:26:53 | Element = {363}  Fanatic's Tower, Level 1
MouseDown "buttonEditDraw" | X:3,Y:9 | Form "Locations" | 2013-08-15 19:26:52 | Element = {363}  Fanatic's Tower, Level 1
MouseDown "pictureBoxTilesetL1" | X:59,Y:63 | Form "Locations" | 2013-08-15 19:26:50 | Element = {363}  Fanatic's Tower, Level 1
MouseDown "pictureBoxLocation" | X:102,Y:182 | Form "Locations" | 2013-08-15 19:26:46 | Element = {363}  Fanatic's Tower, Level 1
MouseDown "pictureBoxLocation" | X:113,Y:182 | Form "Locations" | 2013-08-15 19:26:46 | Element = {363}  Fanatic's Tower, Level 1
MouseDown "pictureBoxLocation" | X:96,Y:162 | Form "Locations" | 2013-08-15 19:26:45 | Element = {363}  Fanatic's Tower, Level 1
MouseDown "pictureBoxTilesetL1" | X:70,Y:53 | Form "Locations" | 2013-08-15 19:26:44 | Element = {363}  Fanatic's Tower, Level 1
User avatar
Warrax
Active User
Active User
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2010 7:47 pm

Re: ZONE DOCTOR - FF6 Editor v3.18.2 FINAL (formerly FF6LE)

Postby giangurgolo » Fri Aug 16, 2013 7:39 pm

Thanks for the report. I've fixed 1,2 and 4. The 3rd is not an error or bug, just a warning message. The space for solidity sets is very constrained so saving after any changes to solidity will probably display that prompt.

EDIT: new release, check the first post for the link and list of changes.
User avatar
giangurgolo
Active User
Active User
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 6:40 pm

Re: ZONE DOCTOR - FF6 Editor v3.18.3 (formerly FF6LE)

Postby Warrax » Fri Aug 16, 2013 10:10 pm

Awesome, thanks for the quick update!
User avatar
Warrax
Active User
Active User
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2010 7:47 pm

Re: ZONE DOCTOR - FF6 Editor v3.18.3 (formerly FF6LE)

Postby Warrax » Mon Aug 19, 2013 3:59 pm

I get an error message when saving location after editing some tiles in WoB. Sometimes I can do it without getting the error but for that to happen I have to edit little by little and save often.

Code: Select all
ZONEDOCTOR, Version=3.18.3.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=null, ROMSize=$400000

**************Exception Text**************
Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
   at ZONEDOCTOR.ToolStripNumericUpDown.get_Value()
   at ZONEDOCTOR.Locations.get_index()
   at ZONEDOCTOR.Locations.Assemble()
   at ZONEDOCTOR.Locations.Locations_FormClosing(Object sender, FormClosingEventArgs e)

**************Recent Event History**************
CLOSED FORM "Locations" | 19/08/2013 3:28:09 PM
"openLocations" | Checked = False | Form "Editor" | 19/08/2013 3:21:36 PM
OPENED FORM "Locations" | 19/08/2013 3:21:36 PM
LOADED ZONE DOCTOR APPLICATION | 19/08/2013 3:21:35 PM
OPENED FORM "Editor" | 19/08/2013 3:21:35 PM
CLOSED FORM "Editor" | 19/08/2013 3:21:33 PM
"saveToolStripMenuItem" | Checked = False | Form "Editor" | 19/08/2013 3:21:31 PM
CLOSED FORM "Locations" | 19/08/2013 3:21:19 PM
"save" | Checked = False | Form "Locations" | Element = {000}  World of Balance, World Map | 19/08/2013 3:21:16 PM
"openLocations" | Checked = False | Form "Editor" | 19/08/2013 3:19:21 PM
User avatar
Warrax
Active User
Active User
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2010 7:47 pm

Re: ZONE DOCTOR - FF6 Editor v3.18.3 (formerly FF6LE)

Postby giangurgolo » Tue Aug 20, 2013 12:21 pm

Does it happen only when you save while closing, that is, clicking the "Would you like to save?" prompt? Have you been working with the program for the last few days without any problems until now? Try resetting the editor's settings to see if that fixes it.
User avatar
giangurgolo
Active User
Active User
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 6:40 pm

Re: ZONE DOCTOR - FF6 Editor v3.18.3 (formerly FF6LE)

Postby Imzogelmo » Thu Aug 22, 2013 3:03 am

I got an error. I wasn't trying to edit anything, just looking at the events on the Floating continent.

Code: Select all
ZONEDOCTOR, Version=3.18.3.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=null, ROMSize=$300000

**************Exception Text**************
Index was out of range. Must be non-negative and less than the size of the collection.
Parameter name: index
   at ZONEDOCTOR.EventScripts.EvtScrEditCommand_Click(Object sender, EventArgs e)
   at ZONEDOCTOR.EventScripts.commandTree_MouseDoubleClick(Object sender, MouseEventArgs e)
   at ZONEDOCTOR.NewTreeView.WndProc(Message& m)

**************Recent Event History**************
NodeMouseClick | index 984, offset 0xCAE00D | Form "EventScripts" | 8/22/2013 1:58:47 AM
OPENED FORM "EventScripts" | 8/22/2013 1:58:11 AM
"treasureListBox" | "TREASURE #0 | Form "Locations" | Element = {394}  Floating Continent, Outside | 8/22/2013 1:57:57 AM
"treasureListBox" | "TREASURE #0 | Form "Locations" | Element = {394}  Floating Continent, Outside | 8/22/2013 1:57:56 AM
"treasureListBox" | "TREASURE #2 | Form "Locations" | Element = {394}  Floating Continent, Outside | 8/22/2013 1:57:53 AM
"treasureListBox" | "TREASURE #1 | Form "Locations" | Element = {394}  Floating Continent, Outside | 8/22/2013 1:57:48 AM
CLOSED FORM "EventScripts" | 8/22/2013 1:57:31 AM
"EvtScrEditCommand" | Checked = False | Form "EventScripts" | Element = {1009}   | 8/22/2013 1:57:18 AM
"commands" | "Pause for 30 units | Form "EventScripts" | Element = {1009}   | 8/22/2013 1:57:18 AM
"categories" | SelectedIndex = 13 | Form "EventScripts" | Element = {1009}   | 8/22/2013 1:57:18 AM
User avatar
Imzogelmo
Veteran
Veteran
 
Posts: 659
Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2004 4:07 pm
Location: On the spirtual plane

Re: ZONE DOCTOR - FF6 Editor v3.18.3 (formerly FF6LE)

Postby Warrax » Thu Aug 22, 2013 1:14 pm

giangurgolo wrote:Does it happen only when you save while closing, that is, clicking the "Would you like to save?" prompt?

I always use the Save button first when in the Map editor, then it always ask me to save locations when I close the window (I couldn't find a button for that) even when I saved first, and then I save the ROM, there is basically 3 saves to do.

giangurgolo wrote:Have you been working with the program for the last few days without any problems until now?

Every time I use the map editor, it end up with an error after doing some stuff so I always edit a bit, save, reload the program and resume work. I have to do that every time to prevent any errors. I always had to do that since I started using it.

giangurgolo wrote:Try resetting the editor's settings to see if that fixes it.

Deleting registry didn't help, all it had is a MRU list. I couldn't find any config file.

The error code found in my previous post was caused just by adding 2 bridges around the The Veldt (WoB). To avoid getting an error, I had to create the first bridge, save, save location, save roms, close the program and run it again so I can resume, otherwise, there is high chance it gonna display an error. If I mess with too much tiles, it end up displaying an error. When that error happens, I can't mess with tiles anymore and the error message keep appearing.

The next error just happened when I tried to removes the 2 bridges I created:

Code: Select all
ZONEDOCTOR, Version=3.18.3.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=null, ROMSize=$400000

**************Exception Text**************
Object reference not set to an instance of an object.

**************Recent Event History**************
CLOSED FORM "Locations" | 2013-08-22 12:46:58
"windowMask" | SelectedIndex = 0 | Form "Locations" | Element = {000}  World of Balance, World Map | 2013-08-22 12:44:59
"l3width" | SelectedIndex = 0 | Form "Locations" | Element = {000}  World of Balance, World Map | 2013-08-22 12:44:59
"l3height" | SelectedIndex = 0 | Form "Locations" | Element = {000}  World of Balance, World Map | 2013-08-22 12:44:59
"l2width" | SelectedIndex = 0 | Form "Locations" | Element = {000}  World of Balance, World Map | 2013-08-22 12:44:59
"l2height" | SelectedIndex = 0 | Form "Locations" | Element = {000}  World of Balance, World Map | 2013-08-22 12:44:59
"l1width" | SelectedIndex = 0 | Form "Locations" | Element = {000}  World of Balance, World Map | 2013-08-22 12:44:59
"l1height" | SelectedIndex = 0 | Form "Locations" | Element = {000}  World of Balance, World Map | 2013-08-22 12:44:59
"mapSetL3Priority" | Checked = False | Form "Locations" | Element = {000}  World of Balance, World Map | 2013-08-22 12:44:59
"topSync" | Value = 0 | Form "Locations" | Element = {000}  World of Balance, World Map | 2013-08-22 12:44:59
User avatar
Warrax
Active User
Active User
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2010 7:47 pm

Re: ZONE DOCTOR - FF6 Editor v3.18.3 (formerly FF6LE)

Postby giangurgolo » Thu Aug 22, 2013 1:51 pm

Deleting registry didn't help, all it had is a MRU list. I couldn't find any config file.

The settings can be reset in the program's settings editor. Click the cog icon at the top of the main window and click "Default" in the settings editor. I can't seem to reproduce this error, which is why I think it may have something to do with the application's settings stored on your machine. It may be a conflict between the settings of the previous version of Zone Doctor with the current version, I'm not sure.

I always use the Save button first when in the Map editor, then it always ask me to save locations when I close the window (I couldn't find a button for that) even when I saved first, and then I save the ROM, there is basically 3 saves to do.

So you don't get the error when you click the save icon in the top left corner? Just after you choose "Yes" in the prompt when you close the window? The error is occurring because the location # control is most likely being nulled before the actual saving occurs. I can safeguard against this in future releases, but I'd prefer to find out exactly why and how it's occurring and fix it the proper way.
User avatar
giangurgolo
Active User
Active User
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 6:40 pm

Next

Return to ROM Hacking and Emulation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron